• (518) 561-0340
  • info@clintoncountyhistorical.org

New Clinton County Prohibition Era (1920-1933) Exhibit at the The Clinton County Historical Association Museum, 98 Ohio Avenue, Old Base Museum Campus open 10 am to 3 pm, November 10 to 13 and November 17 to 20.

The new exhibit Rum Across the Border Revisited, opening November 10th at the Clinton County Historical Association Museum, is like no other. Visitors will experience a Speakeasy complete with a Jazz band and can try their skills on the player piano.  The Speakeasy is based on a Line House where booze could be moved to the Canadian side of the border when Customs Agents entered from the US side.  A diorama depicts a bootlegger’s trail complete with the Gulf in Mooers, a famous Rt 9 trail, a still operation and a miniature County speakeasy. A wall of headlines connects to a map telling of the many events that took place in the County from 1920 to 1933. A series of photos tells more of the story. The two room exhibit was funded by a 2021 Corridor of Commerce Grant from the Champlain Valley National Heritage Partnership through an agreement awarded by the United States Parks Service to the New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission in partnership with CVNHP.

All other galleries at the museum will be open during this time with exhibits on every floor plus a redesigned gift shop making available the largest collection of local new and used history books in the County. Every gallery is handicapped accessible.

The museum will be open from 10 am to 3 pm the weeks of November 10 to 13 and November 17 to 20. Researchers are welcome to make appointments to use our library and reference files.  All visitors are required to be vaccinated and wear masks. The museum is free to the public.  After November 20, the museum is open by appointment only. Donations are welcomed.

For more information, visit www.clintoncountyhistorical.org, email director@clintoncountyhistorical.org, or call 518-561-0340.